2018-09-05 Grand Rapids, MI - The Magpie Salute

Notes from the Taper

The Magpie Salute
20 Monroe Live
Grand Rapids, MI
September 5, 2018

** 16 BIT **

Source #1: Sonic Studios DSM-6P w/3-way lo-cut filter (@ 80hz, middle setting) > Tascam DR-2d @ 16 bit/44.1 kHz
Source #2: CA-14 cardioids > CA-9100 > Tascam DR-2d @ 16 bit/44.1 kHz
Mastering: .WAV's > Adobe Audition CC 2018 Release, Build (matrix mixdown) > Sound Forge Pro 11.0 (Build 299) [iZotope Mastering Suite (declick); minor edits, normalize, & fades] > CDWav (tracking) > Trader's Little Helper (level 5) > FLAC > TagScanner 6.0.18 (tagging)
Location: 3 feet to the immediate left of the soundboard
Recorded by: "Steve "ballsdeep" Hagar
Mastered by: Dennis Orr

Setlist: (1:37:24)
01 Intro
02 High Water
03 Mary The Gypsy
04 Take It All
05 Open Up
06 Old Lady Sunrise (1)
07 Inside (2)
08 Chat
09 Hand In Hand (3)
10 April Fool (3)(4)
11 Chat
12 Better When You're Not Alone
13 Walk On Water (1)
14 For The Wind
15 Rollin' Over
16 What Goes On
17 Shalimar Dreams (1)
18 Had To Cry Today
19 Can You See (2)
20 Horsehead
21 Soul Singing
22 Send Me An Omen

(1) Marc - lead vocals
(2) Rich - lead vocals
(3) Acoustic
(4) Rich, Marc, & John only

Rich Robinson - guitars & vocals
Marc Ford - guitars & vocals
John Hogg - lead & backing vocals, guitar, percussion, & harp
Sven Pipien - bass & backing vocals
Matt Slocum - keyboards
Joe Magistro - drums

The photos numbered starting with "4" are by Brandon A. Smith. The rest are by Steve.

Show Notes:

Well, to start, I lugged about 100 lbs. of gear around the venue in 95 degree weather...not the best choice for a 'rugged Alaskan' (haha).

But got inside in time for soundcheck, and spent 20 minutes looking for staff to ask about filming...no dice.

So, an hour into setting up 4 cams (during soundcheck), I was then told it was a FIVE THOUSAND DOLLAR fee if filming was to occur.


All that aside, what you have here is a mean, lean (just over 90 minute) TMS set.

It's a "let the music do the talking" kind of show, but a few highlights were "April Fool", "Rollin' Over", "Had To Cry", "Horsehead", and of course the actual experience of hearing the songs live for the first time.

Nothing but kudos and good things to say about the TMS crew...they treat me like family, so I try to deliver you kids the goods in the appropriate fashion.

Anyhow, plug in, turn on, and enjoy this blistering gem!

Kent is coming soon, and I have a few sweet shows up the sleeves in the next couple months...



---Dr. Deep sez GO SEE THIS BAND!